NSW’s dominance of women’s cricket is over after Sydney’s big wet ended the greatest grand final streak in Australian sport.

The Breakers’ final-round WNCL clash with Queensland was washed out without a ball being bowled on Sunday, ensuring NSW would not make the final.

It marks the first time since the tournament’s inception in 1996-97 the Breakers have not qualified for the final, ending a 24-year run in which NSW won 20 titles.

Victoria will host the decider on Saturday against one of Queensland or South Australia.

While rain washed away NSW’s hopes on Sunday at North Sydney Oval, they only had themselves to blame after a sluggish start to the tournament.

With their Australian players on deck, they lost their first two games to a star-studded Victoria side that included the likes of Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry.

They then only managed a tie against the up-and-coming Tasmanians, before an eight-wicket loss to Queensland on Friday ultimately proved costly.

Victoria will meanwhile enter the final short of personnel due to international duties, with Lanning, Perry, Sophie Molineux, Molly Strano, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham and the injured Annabel Sutherland.

South Australia would also be without Darcie Brown, Tahlia McGrath and Megan Schutt, while Queensland are missing Jess Jonassen and Beth Mooney.

The final was originally meant to be played with Australian representatives available, before COVID-19 forced changes to the tour dates in New Zealand.

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics