Bangladesh have given a debut to allrounder Mahedi Hasan

New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl against Bangladesh

New Zealand have handed out three ODI debuts as they return to the format for the first time in a year with Devon Conway, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell all lining up against Bangladesh in Dunedin.

Conway and Young replace the injured duo of Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor – the first time since 2014 that neither of the senior pair have not appeared in an ODI – while allrounder Mitchell comes into the middle order. They have also opted for Matt Henry ahead of Tim Southee in the pace attack.

Bangladesh have given a debut to allrounder Mahedi Hasan and have also included young paceman Hasan Mahmud in the XI. Mossaddek Hossain remains injured.

Tom Latham, captaining New Zealand in his 100th ODI, opted to bowl first. Before the game he was given a commemorative cap by his father, Rod.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Henry Nicholls, 3 Devon Conway, 4 Tom Latham (capt & wk), 5 Will Young, 6 James Neesham, 7 Daryl Mitchell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Kyle Jamieson, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult

Bangladesh 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Liton Das, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Mohammad Mithun, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Hasan Mahmud, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Andrew McGlashan is a deputy editor at ESPNcricinfo

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics