Queensland will face South Australia at the recently redeveloped ground as they bid to host the Shield final

Australia will get a new first-class venue on Tuesday when Ian Healy Oval in Brisbane hosts the Sheffield Shield match between Queensland and South Australia.

There had been various changes made to the schedule in recent days with the match initially relocated to Allan Border Field, but it has been returned to Ian Healy Oval due to the impact of recent rain with the new venue having better drainage than AB Field – that drainage is likely to be tested with considerable rain forecast for the opening day.

Queensland’s previous Shield match against Victoria managed just 76 overs on the first two days before the second half of the game was abandoned.

Queensland are currently top of the table in a tight race with New South Wales in what appears the likely pairing for the final next month. The side that finishes top of the regular season earns hosting rights. The two teams face each other at North Dalton Park in Wollongong in the final round of matches over Easter weekend.

Last season’s final did not get played due to Covid-19 ending the competition early and New South Wales were awarded the title.

Queensland have brought fast bowler Billy Stanlake into their squad in place of Mark Steketee who has a side injury. Jack Wildermuth, who was ruled out of the abandoned Marsh Cup game against Victoria with a quad strain, has recovered to be included.

South Australia, who are bottom of the table and have not won a game in any format this season, have included the uncapped Sam Kerber who has been prolific in Premier Cricket. Wes Agar could also be in line for a recall after a 10-wicket haul for his club last week.

Ian Healy Oval is part of the A$18.6 million National Cricket Campus project with the next and final stage to redevelop Allan Border Field which will include increasing the boundary size to reach international standards and improved drainage. Work is due to start in June and last into early next year.

Queensland squad Usman Khawaja (capt), Xavier Bartlett, Joe Burns, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Matthew Renshaw, Billy Stanlake, Bryce Street, Jack Wildermuth

South Australia squad Travis Head (capt), Alex Carey, Wes Agar, David Grant, Henry Hunt, Sam Kerber, Jake Lehmann, Joe Medew-Ewen, Harry Nielsen, Liam Scott, Jake Weatherald, Nick Winter, Daniel Worrall

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics