New York City FC entered the win column throughout the 2021 MLS preseason, beating fellow Jap Convention aspect Orlando City SC Three-2 on Thursday throughout a closed-door scrimmage.

The Lions suffered their first setback after previously beating the Philadelphia Union, although big-name signing Alexandre Pato scored throughout his first preseason match with the membership, equalizing at 2-2 within the 65th minute. The Brazilian striker arrived in February on a one-year deal as a free agent, final taking part in for Sao Paulo FC, and will strengthen what’s already one of many league’s stronger assaults. 

NYCFC have been led by ahead Valentin Castellanos, who scored from a Seventh-minute penalty kick and acquired a 67th-minute game-winner by way of service from exterior again Gudmundur Thorarinsson. Additionally they acquired a first-half penalty-kick aim from Jesus Medina, with homegrown winger Andres Jasson drawing each spot kicks. 

Castellanos, after NYCFC dropped a 2-1 match to Chicago Fire FC earlier this preseason, is rounding into kind upon scoring a team-leading six objectives a season in the past. Jasson signed last November, with the US youth worldwide proving energetic and harmful forward of his first skilled season.

Orlando Metropolis additionally acquired a aim from middle again Robin Jansson, who partnered with Antonio Carlos throughout the 2020 marketing campaign. In any other case, club-shared photographs confirmed winger Chris Mueller and midfielder Oriol Rosell that includes for the Lions.

A season in the past, NYCFC and Orlando Metropolis met in Spherical One of many Audi MLS Cup Playoffs. The Lions gained a memorable penalty-kick shootout, 6-5, after a 1-1 draw. The golf equipment are respectively coming into their second years with Ronny Deila and Oscar Pareja as head coach.


  • 7′ – NYC – Valentin Castellanos
  • 39′ – NYC – Jesus Medina
  • 43′ – ORL – Robin Jansson
  • 65′ – ORL – Alexandre Pato
  • 67′ – NYC – Valentin Castellanos


New York Metropolis FC (Four-2-Three-1): Luis Barraza (Cody Mizell) – Tayvon Grey (Ben Di Rosa), Maxime Chanot (Vuk Latinovich), Vuk Latinovich (Sebastien Ibeagha), Gudmundur Thorarinsson (Dren Dobruna) – James Sands (Keaton Parks), Tony Rocha – Jesus Medina (Diego Rossi), Ismael Tajouri-Shradi (Nicolas Acevedo), Andres Jasson (Cooper Flax) – Valentin Castellanos (Mark Cajamarca)

Orlando Metropolis SC: No lineup particulars have been instantly accessible from the closed-door match

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics