Finn Allen makes his T20I debut © Getty Images

New Zealand chose to bat vs Bangladesh

Tim Southee won the toss and chose to bat first against Bangladesh in the first of the three-match T20I series in Hamilton.

“It was a great one-day series but it’s a change of format and the change of personnel,” Southee said at the toss as New Zealand handed a T20I debuts to Finn Allen and Will Young, with Devon Conway taking over the wicketkeeping duties.

Bangladesh also handed out maiden T20I caps to left-arm seamer Shoriful Islam and left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed. Mushfiqur Rahim, meanwhile, missed out because of a shoulder injury.

“I would have bowled first as it looks like a dry wicket,” their captain Mahmudullah said. “Different format might bring a change of fortunes for us but then we need to play well.”

Bangladesh are yet to beat New Zealand in T20Is, having lost all seven games they have played against New Zealand.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Finn Allen, 3 Devon Conway (wk), 4 Will Young, 5 Glenn Phillips, 6 Mark Chapman, 7 Daryl Mitchell, 8 Tim Southee (capt), 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Hamish Bennett

Bangladesh: 1 1 Liton Das (wk), 2 Mohammad Naim, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mohammad Mithun, 5 Mahmudullah (capt), 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Mohammad Saifuddin, 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Nasum Ahmed, 10 Shoriful Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Hemant Brar is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics