South Australia lost their fourth game in a row

Queensland 6 for 321 (Labuschagne 82, Heazlett 65, Renshaw 56, Khawaja 50) beat South Australia 161 (Weatherald 68, Kuhnemann 4-37) by 160 runs

Half-centuries from Queensland’s top four and a four-wicket haul by left-arm spinner Matthew Kuhnemann saw Queensland stay unbeaten in the Marsh Cup as their bonus-point win took the side to the top of the points table at the end of four rounds. South Australia, who were bowled out in the 35th over, lost their fourth game in a row and remain last. Queensland’s win now means there are four sides in contention for the two spots in the Marsh Cup final with one round of games to go.

Electing to field first, South Australia were on the back foot early into the game thanks to an opening stand of 118 from the Queensland openers. Sam Heazlett struck a 64-ball 65 – peppered with four fours and four sixes – in the company of Usman Khawaja in the first-wicket partnership that lasted 19.4 overs before being caught behind off Spencer Johnson. Next over, Khawaja fell on 50 dismissed by Wes Agar.

The two new men at the crease, Marnus Labuschagne and Matt Renshaw then piled on another big partnership. They added 128 runs in 20.2 overs, hitting 10 fours and five sixes between them. Labuschagne top-scored with 82 while Renshaw made 56 before a run-out ended the stand. Some big hits from Jack Wildermuth and Jimmy Pierson in the death overs took Queensland to 6 for 321.

South Australia’s chase never got going, as they lost three wickets inside the first 11 overs. Michael Neser had Harry Nielsen caught behind early while Billy Stanlake removed Travis Head and Renshaw dismissed Alex Carey. Although Jake Weatherald made 68, he missed a batting partner who would do the same; the second-highest score by a South Australia batsman was Callum Ferguson’s 19.

Both Ferguson and Weatherald were dismissed by Kuhnemann, who was the sixth bowler introduced by Queensland captain Khawaja. He then dismissed Nos 9 and 10 to finish with his best List-A figures of 4 for 37 and close out the massive win in Brisbane’s Allan Border field.

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics