Port Adelaide flexed their muscles to kick off their AFL premiership assault with a dominant 52-point win over North Melbourne under the roof at Marvel Stadium.

New recruit Orazio Fantasia, Charlie Dixon and Todd Marshall all hit the scoreboard in an eight-goal blitz during the second quarter that saw the Power break the game open.

Former Essendon forward Fantasia looked immediately at home in Port’s attacking set-up on a ground he knows better than any other, finishing with four goals in the 17.15 (117) to 9.11 (65) win.

Veteran midfielder Travis Boak (27 disposals and seven clearances) combined well with Robbie Gray (19 and seven) as part of a dominant after quarter-time.

The Power’s day was soured when Riley Bonner tore his right hamstring with a fresh-air swing while attempting to kick a ball off the ground.

Former Collingwood forward Jaidyn Stephenson (33 disposals, seven tackles and five clearances) was one of North’s best in the midfield and emerging on-baller Luke Davies-Uniacke (20 disposals and one goal) impressed after signing a two-year contract extension.

Kangaroos recruit Aidan Corr was substituted out with a toe injury during the final term, which allowed debutant Charlie Lazzaro to enter the field of play.

Moments later, teammate Curtis Taylor was helped off the ground after a head knock.

North’s new era under David Noble started promisingly and they led by two points at quarter-time, having had the better of general play and generating 20 inside-50s to 12.

But Port’s strong midfield unit began to get on top early in the second term.

Fantasia cashed in with three goals before half-time, while Dixon and Marshall kicked two each in a six-minute burst that gave Port breathing space.

Ollie Wines (30 disposals) was controversially penalised 50m for moving half a step on the mark during the third term, gifting Bailey Scott a goal after his first set shot missed.

It was one of few blips for the Power in a dominant showing as Dixon, Boak, Marshall and Zak Butters each finished with two goals.

The Kansas City Chiefs are 2019 NFC Champs - get your gear on at Fanatics